Canadian Martyrs/Saint Thomas Aquinas
1725 Oxford Street
Halifax, Nova Scotia
B3H 3Z7
E-mail: [email protected]
Phone: (902) 423-3057 | Fax: (902) 484-6944
HomeFacility People Programmes Sacraments Sign Up Youth Stewarship
The Seven Sacraments

Detail from "The Delivery of the Keys"
Pietro Perugino

The term sacrament is derived from the Latin sacramentum, meaning "a consecrated thing or act," i.e. "something holy"; '"to consecrate", which itself was a Church Latin translation of the Greek mysterion, meaning "mystery."

Christ instituted the sacraments of the new law. There are seven: Baptism, Confirmation (or Chrismation), the Eucharist, Penance, the Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony. The seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life: they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian's life of faith. There is thus a certain resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of the spiritual life.

[…] the sacraments form an organic whole in which each particular sacrament has its own vital place. In this organic whole, the Eucharist occupies a unique place as the "Sacrament of sacraments": "all the other sacraments are ordered to it as to their end."
-Catechism of the Catholic Church 1210-1

The Seven Sacraments

Official Name - Alternative names

  1. Baptism
  2. Eucharist - Communion
  3. Marriage - Matrimony
  4. Holy Orders - Ordination
  5. Confirmation
  6. Reconciliation - Confession, Penance
  7. Annointing of the Sick - Sacrament of the Sick, sometimes incorrectly referred to as "Last Rites"