The term sacrament is derived from the Latin sacramentum, meaning "a consecrated thing or act," i.e. "something holy"; '"to consecrate", which itself was a Church Latin translation of the Greek mysterion, meaning "mystery."

Christ instituted the sacraments of the new law. There are seven: Baptism, Confirmation (or Chrismation), the Eucharist, Penance, the Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony. The seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life: they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian's life of faith. There is thus a certain resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of the spiritual life.

The sacraments form an organic whole in which each particular sacrament has its own vital place. In this organic whole, the Eucharist occupies a unique place as the "Sacrament of sacraments": "all the other sacraments are ordered to it as to their end."
-Catechism of the Catholic Church 1210-1


The following pages outline the information regarding the Sacraments at St Thomas Aquinas~Canadian Martyrs Parish – Click the links for the information you require on each:

  1. Baptism
  2. Eucharist – Communion
  3. Marriage – Matrimony
  4. Holy Orders – Ordination
  5. Confirmation
  6. Reconciliation – Confession, Penance
  7. Annointing of the Sick – Sacrament of the Sick, sometimes incorrectly referred to as "Last Rites"



Office Hours

Office Hours:
Monday through Friday
8 a.m. until 4 p.m

Phone (902) 423-3057
Fax ## (902) 484-6944


EBulletin Sign Up

Subscribe to our EBulletins by filling in the form below.

You will automatically receive the Parish Bulletin by Email.

A confirmation email will be sent to your mailbox: please read the instruction inside it to complete the subscription.